Book Reviews

A Mess of Reason (REVIEW)

Author: A. Wilding Wells

Rating: ★ 1/5

Synopsis: Scout Steele is the country music star People magazine just voted ‘sexiest bachelor’. More than that, he’s my best friend forever, my bff. OK, not quite my lingo – I’m almost thirty. We’ve shared everything, and then some. Even crossed the line a few times, but not too far. Well, mostly…. He’ll go to the end of the world to make me happy; he knows me inside and out. Except, that is, my most intimate and darkest defect; this he must never know. It would ruin us, and ‘us’ is the only thing that matters. So I’m marrying someone who doesn’t care about the truth or, frankly, even me.” “She’s twisted and sexy as all get out. Brilliant and beautiful, Tess Harlow is my best friend and my forbidden fruit – the woman I’ve always known and loved the best but can never have. Between my tours (and sexy groupies) and her man-juggling, we’ve never found “our time.” I love her to pieces but she’s about to marry the bane of my existence, rocker Creed Luce. He’s a walking cliche and he treats my Tess like hell – why she stays with him I still haven’t figured out. I am always there for her…but not this time. Tess deserves better, way better, my better. The door is half-open and I have my ways. Her best friend is about to become her best lover.

REVIEW:

From chapter 1, until the last chapter I was very lazy reading this book, i don’t know why… Maybe because of the sexual words that I can’t even understand. I have read books with contents like that, but this book is different! Imagine a book with lines very sexy and awkward, i mean all of the lines are! It’s depressing, and i feel like i can’t continue this anymore. The first time I saw this book, i thought this would be good for me. But it isn’t, it made me feel bad for reading the book. I expected too much, maybe because of the cover (oops, sorry).

CHARACTERS

Tess– Oh come on! She’s very irritating. If she would ever come to life, i don’t want too see her, ever! She’s a cry baby, crying over things she did herself, crying over small things. And, sorry to say this but she’s very stupid. She wants to be with Scout but then she’s getting married. Isn’t that stupid? She’s always saying that she wants to be with her bestfriend, but that’s what they’re doing right now. They act like their couples, and when something’s about to happen between them, she’ll start to cry and resist as if she doesn’t want something like that.

Scout- I hate him. Really. Aside from his name (He has the same name with a character from To Kill A Mockingbirdthat i respect so much), i hate him for being such an opportunist, taking advantage of his best friend’s weak character just for him to do whatever he wants from her. He’s the type of guy you would never want to date, the type of guy you would want to kill (am i too harsh? sorry).

They are the best example for the term ‘(Best)Friends with Benefits’. And it made me hate them more!! Ugh, i’m done with this.

PLOT

Honestly, i really like the plot. At first, I thought it would turn out nice because of the plot which is about bestfriends with feelings toward each other, have no courage to let their feelings touch each other’s hearts. It was a good plot. I like it, really, but you know what i didn’t like? The execution. If the author (A. Wilding Wells) just executed the story better, i’d probably rate it 5/5.

Thanks for reading.

Note: To the readers, this review is only an opinion of mine, don’t be hesitant to read the book just because of my low rating. Try to read it and let me know what you think. To the author, i respect you so much, and i’m so sorry for giving a low rating, but as promised, I gave an honest review. Thank you for giving me the chance to review your book. 

 

Leave a Reply

