Creative Writing

Vision of Dreams

CREATIVE WRITING: Dream

“Hold fast to dreams,
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird,
That cannot fly.”
Langston Hughes

Dreams are something we all have. It is very important, for it is our vision. The vision of what we could be, where we could be, and who we could be in the future.

Only I can see, no one else but me. I can see it now, my own vision of myself. 
I am sitting on a comfortable chair, playing with my pen, thinking what i can write. It’s been happening to me for almost a month, i can’t think of any idea i could write. But it’s normal, it’s happening to most of the writers all over the world. This is the so-called writer’s block.
I’m sick of this condition, unable to produce an original idea, so i went to places beautiful places I’ve never been to. I walked around, took some pictures and finally, I got inspired.
I started to search for my journal on my shoulder bag, which is my favorite. Once i had my journal, I took a deep breath and thought of all the places I’ve been to. It was beautiful, and relieving― closing your eyes and thinking of all the words you could put together and sooner or later, they’ll turn into a beautiful story. It seems magical when the pen meets paper, and produce a beautiful work out of words and ideas.
Fast forward 10 months, my work is finished and published. Finally, I felt the success and result of my hardships. My book was read by so many people all over the world. Plenty of reviews were posted, some readers liked it, some didn’t. But you know what’s good? I’ve learned to accept the negative comments I got because i believe, it made me better.  

This is my vision. Me, thinking of a writing prompt, editing, reading, and improving my own work. This is my vision, me as a writer, me as a proofreader, me as a journalist, and me as an achiever. These are my dreams.

We are all dreamers, some are hoping to get out of touch of the reality, some are dreaming, hoping to achieve. To my fellow dreamers, keep on dreaming but don’t let your dreams be dreams forever. Dream, try your best and reach it.

I am Jamaica, saying… DREAM to ACHIEVE! 

You? What is your vision?

 

 

 

1 thought on “Vision of Dreams”

Leave a Reply

